5 Day Workout Routine

gym-facecardioDo you ever go to the gym with no plan and then kind of do a few things, walk around a lot and then leave not knowing if what you just did even counted as working out? I know I have, so I decided to take a break from the gym for a few weeks and when I went back I knew I was going to be regimented, disciplined and excited for my planned workouts so that I would leave feeling great every time. Now I know there are people who workout everyday, but I like days off which is why I came up with a plan that is flexible and works. They are designed to keep you active for about an hour each day. I super-set them, meaning I do a set of one then a set of another then go back for 3 sets of each then move on with no rest in between sets. Here is my workout routine that I think you’ll love!

Please note I do 10-12 reps per exercise and 3 sets of each (so 30-36 reps total). And Please, Please, Please don’t over do it, use a weight that is comfortable and stretch before or after if you need to; no sense in going and getting hurt, your only goal should be to go and feel awesome! ^_^

MondayMVIMG_20180313_063500.jpg


  • Warm up – Walk on 4.5-6 incline at 4.0 mph for 20 minutes or go on the stair-stepper
  • Dumbbell press
  • Skull crushers
  • Chest flies
  • Back flies
  • Lateral pull downs
  • Push-ups

TuesdayMVIMG_20180313_062203.jpg


  • Warm up – Walk on 4.5-6 incline at 4.0 mph for 20 minutes
  • Leg press
  • Calf raises
  • Regular squat
  • Strict dead lifts
  • Seated leg curls
  • Leg extensions

Wednesday


Cardio day. It varies by what I’m feeling and I use it as a way to break up the monotony of the week. Here are some options or you:

  • Run (cough jog) for 30 minutes followed by biking or going on the elliptical for 30 minutes
  • Walk on incline/run on the treadmill for interval training (I do .25 walk on 8% incline followed by running .15 on 0% incline and retreat)
  • Stair stepper 30 minutes followed by biking for 30 minutes
  • Bike for an hour on a spinning bike (adjusting the resistance to raise and lower your heart rate)
  • Swim laps for 30 minutes and then rewarm yourself with a 5-10 minute session in the sauna
  • Attend a workout class! Yay – my favorite one is Spinning or Zumba. I also love going to yoga classes on Wednesday if I need more of a mindful exercise. I have been enjoying yoga a lot more recently because it allows me to connect with my mind and body in one workout rather than zoning out to the music I listen to during my regular workouts.

ThursdayMVIMG_20180313_062535.jpg


  • Warm up – Walk on 4.5-6 incline at 4.0 mph for 20 minutes
  • Shoulder press
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep push-downs
  • Full range sit-ups
  • Hanging knee tucks

FridayMVIMG_20180313_062746.jpg


  • Warm up – Walk on 4.5-6 incline at 4.0 mph for 20 minutes
  • Step ups
  • Single leg lunge
  • Dead lifts
  • Kick backs
  • Hip abductor
  • Hip other
  • Lunges on track
  • Back extension

Don’t forget to have a fun on your fitness journey; workouts don’t have to be dreadful!

I’d love to hear from you; comment below and like and follow me on Instagram and Pinterest.

2 of these pictures I can not take credit for – Picture Credit 1 Picture Credit 2

Published by

Just a Side Note

Blogger. Adventure seeker. Dreamer.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.